The Regret of Not Running

Well… that was tough.  Pittsburgh Marathon weekend has come and gone and now I’ve had a little time to reflect on what it was like to NOT run in any of the events for the first time in several years.  In retrospect, it was painful.  It’s not that I didn’t have my reasons for not participating this year.  I’ve been writing and marketing quite a bit.  My “real” job has kept me very busy.  My daughter is perfecting the terrible twos before she moves on to the diabolical threes.  I had bronchitis for a while.  Etc., etc., etc.

I told myself all of those things as the marathon weekend approached.  Then, on Saturday there was a nice feature on me http://triblive.com/aande/books/6028973-74/hensley-resolve-book#axzz31LJcS9Bj the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.  I thought it might keep my mind off of the fact that I wasn’t running.  I read the first lines:

J.J. Hensley won’t be participating in Sunday’s Pittsburgh Marathon as he has in the past.

Well… bummer.

Then, on Sunday I received constant social media updates on the marathon.  I saw status updates from friends who were having a wonderful time.

Double bummer.

So, while it may have been a wise move for me to not run this year I’m going to balance that out by running a summer half-marathon.  You know… when it’s hot.  This is one of the weird things about runners and writers.  Even if we intentionally miss an opportunity for good reasons, we will do everything we can to make up for our temporary bout of wisdom.

Have you had any experiences like this?

Read more: http://triblive.com/aande/books/6028973-74/hensley-resolve-book#ixzz31LK7eeiy
Follow us: @triblive on Twitter | triblive on Facebook

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Regret of Not Running

  1. Sarah

    Ever since I moved to Pittsburgh in 2012 I’ve participated in either the half or the full. Last year I debated participating, but asked myself how I would feel on race day. I realized I would probably feel really sad and like I was missing something. In the future, I think I’m going to always participate in marathon weekend, maybe volunteering, if I find myself unable to run.

    Reply
    1. J.J. Hensley Post author

      Yes, I won’t miss too many more. Or, if I do, it will at least be for another race. I had a streak going since 2009 and should have kept it up. Seeing posts from home was rougher than the climb into Oakland.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

